TIA Board Elects Devens, Trum as Officers

TIA Board Elects Devens, Trum as Officers

The new executive committee members will begin their terms in October.

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) elected two current board members to its executive committee during its recent mid-year board meeting. Russ Devens, of McCarthy Tire Service, who has chaired TIA’s training & education committee since 2020, was voted in as secretary, while TJ Trum, of Pomp’s Tire Service Inc. and chair of the association’s government affairs committee, was elected treasurer. Trum will replace TIA Treasurer Mike Wolfe of Southeastern Wholesale Tire, who is stepping down this fall after 14 years on the board, including seven as treasurer.

The new TIA officers will officially begin their terms Oct. 30 during the TIA board meeting in Las Vegas prior to the opening of the 2023 Global Tire Expo/SEMA Show. 

A TIA board member for the past five years, Devens works as director of safety and risk management at McCarthy Tire. His election as TIA secretary places him in line to become the association’s president in 2026-2027. Trum, Pomp’s Tire’s general counsel, joined the board in 2019 and was re-elected to a second three-year term in 2022.

Commenting on his upcoming role, Devens thanked the TIA board and membership for the opportunity to serve as association secretary. “I look forward to continuing the focus of training and safety within the tire industry,” he said.

Trum also serves on TIA’s strategic planning and training & education committees and leads the association’s support of Trucker’s Against Trafficking.

“I appreciate and am humbled by those in the industry that have entrusted me to assist the Tire Industry Association in this new role,” Trum said. “Having participated as an active member of the board for several years now, I’m regularly inspired by the great work being performed by the staff and teammates of the TIA. I look forward to contributing towards and investing in the continued advocacy and training efforts by TIA in the exciting years to come.”

You May Also Like

SRNA introduces new field engineer manager

Chariarse has extensive experience in his field, working as a commercial truck field engineer in the tire industry for the past 21 years.


Sumitomo Rubber North America (SRNA), a subsidiary of Sumitomo Rubber Industries, has promoted Eduardo Chariarse to field engineer manager. According to SRNA, Chariarse has extensive experience in his field, working as a commercial truck field engineer in the tire industry for the past 21 years. Joining SRNA in 2021 as a field engineer, he has been responsible for the coordination, implementation, and reporting of tire evaluations, troubleshooting, and providing technical support to fleets, dealers and the sales team.

Bartec TPMS adds Joe Miller to its field service team

Miller previously spent four years with Snap-on as an equipment specialist, and most recently with GPC/NAPA at the St. Louis company-owned auto parts stores.

TBC promotes Don Byrd to president and CEO

Byrd joined TBC in April 2018 as executive vice president of TBC and president & COO of National Tire Wholesale (NTW).

Goodyear names new Americas unit president

Ryan Waldron joined Goodyear in 2003, serving in leadership roles in finance and supply chain for multiple North America business areas.

Continental appoints new ‘head of region’ for the US, Canada

In this role, Rob Schroeder will oversee all of material handling, port, earthmoving and agriculture tire business in the United States and Canada.


Other Posts

TIA shares eligibility requirements for the Marvin Bozarth ETS Technician of the Year award

The winner will receive an all-expenses-paid trip for themselves and a guest to the 2025 OTR Tire Conference in Puerto Rico.

McCarthy Tire Service partners with Truckers Against Trafficking

McCarthy Tire Service has launched a company policy aimed at identifying and reporting potential human trafficking situations.

TIA’s EV Advisory Council tours Midtronics HQ

The agenda included a council meeting, a facility tour and a demonstration led by the Midtronics EV platform team.

TIA applauds EPA study on crumb rubber infill for sports

The study concluded that differences in measurements between players using fields with crumb rubber infill and those using grass fields were negligible.