Connect with us

Leading Associations Join Tyre Industry Federation

(Clacton, U.K./Tyres & Accessories) The Tyre Industry Federation (TIF) has strengthened its position as the leading authority for the tyre industry by voting to accept the Industrial Tyre Association, National Tyre Distributors Association, Retread Manufacturers Association and Tyre Recovery Association.


The federation now includes all the significant associations within the tyre industry and is representative of the whole tyre supply and disposal chain in the U.K.


According to the TIF, the vision of the federation remains: “To provide the means for all segments of the tyre industry to associate and voice an industry-wide view on all matters of mutual interest.”

In 2006, it will continue to concentrate on the key issues of used tyre recovery; improving transparency in tyre markets; strengthening best practice down the supply chain; and reinvigorating tyre safety work. In addition, representatives say it will also continue to develop its structures so as to take full advantage of the opportunities now created for effective partnership in the industry.

Jim Rickard, the chairman, stated: “All members of the federation, both new and existing, are delighted that we have been able to establish ourselves as the authoritative voice for the industry so quickly. It is a true measure of the value that all segments of our industry see in working more closely together.


“We have found the right framework for addressing areas of mutual concern and it is clear that there is the commitment and the goodwill to make the federation work in the interests of all. We now look forward to taking advantage of the new opportunities for the partnership we have set up.”

Following the acceptance of the new members, the Tyre Industry Federation then held its first full meeting with representatives of the new members present. The members of the board are:

Jim Rickard, Michelin Tyre PLC
Brian Smith, Continental Tyre Group Ltd.
Bert Stellinga, Vredestein UK Ltd.

Len Sambrook, Solideal UK Ltd.

David Seward, Yokohama HPT Ltd.
Steve Tidmarsh, Kumho Tyre (UK) Ltd.
John Westwood, Lassa Tyres

Richard Edy, NTDA director
Peter Gaster, Kings Road Tyres and Repairs Ltd.
Alan Revie, National Tyres and Autocare
John Tarbox, John Tarbox Tyres and Exhausts Ltd.


Patrick O’Connell, Bandvulc Tyres Ltd.
David Wilson, RMA Director

Roger Hicks, Charles Lawrence International Ltd.
Peter Taylor, TRA secretary general

Jim Rickard continues as chairman of the board, Steve Tidmarsh as vice-chairman and John Dorken, director of BRMA, as secretary.

Click to comment


Garage Studio

The Difference Between A/T, R/T and M/T Tires

Commercial Tires

Goodyear Announces New Mixed Service Drive Tire

MICHELIN-Defender-2 MICHELIN-Defender-2


Michelin Launches Defender 2 Tires for CUVs and Passenger Cars

Commercial Tires

Continental Launches Second-Generation General Grabber Tires

Tire Review Magazine