Auto Care Association Forms New Sustainability Committee

Auto Care Association Forms New Sustainability Committee

The committee features perspectives on sustainability across the entire industry.

The Auto Care Association has announced the formation of a new advisory committee that focuses on environmental sustainability in the auto care industry. The new sustainability committee aims to increase awareness of the importance of sustainability, create a long-term strategy to initiate evolution in our industry’s practices and highlight businesses that implement those practices, Auto Care Association said.

In its initial phase, the association said the sustainability committee will focus on four strategic areas: 

  • An industry education campaign encouraging sustainable environmental efforts and promotion of the automotive aftermarket as a sustainable industry;
  • the evaluation and influence of legislative policies that benefit both the environment and the industry;
  • providing guidance on the advantages and opportunities of recycling; and
  • fostering best practice sharing and enhancement of industry standards to become more environmentally friendly.

According to the Auto Care Association, the sustainability committee is composed of association members and sustainability experts who are passionate about the ecological integrity of the auto care industry’s activities. The committee features perspectives from across the entire supply chain, from manufacturers to warehouse distributors to retailers and shops. The founding members are:

  • Ben Spitz, Parts Authority (Committee Chair);
  • Stefan Feder, Continental (Committee Vice Chair);
  • Malcolm Sissmore, BorgWarner (Executive Committee Member);
  • Joe Stephan, Nexus (Executive Committee Member);
  • Mike Allen, Federated Auto Parts Distributors, Inc.;
  • Scott Cannon, O’Reilly Auto Parts;
  • Michael Cowan, Honest1 Auto Care;
  • Lee Forman, Dynamic Automotive;
  • Don Gebhardt, Valvoline Global;
  • Lisa Gochenour, Highline Warren LLC;
  • Troy Hitchcock, AutoZone;
  • Michael Kitching, GB Remanufacturing, Inc.;
  • Theo Lamperis, BBB Industries, LLC;
  • Mike Leupold, EnerSys (Odyssey Battery);
  • Thomas Pajer, Bridgestone;
  • Micah Thompson, Advance Auto Parts.

The inaugural sustainability committee meeting will take place at Spring Leadership Days (part of Auto Care Connect) on Thursday, May 25, 2023. Representatives from interested companies may attend the public portion of the committee meeting by registering here.

You May Also Like

Tire Discounters partners with the Atlanta Braves for home run promotion

For every home run hit by the Braves this year in a game, Tire Discounters will give fans discounts on Goodyear/Cooper tires.

Tire Discounters will partner with the Atlanta Braves as the official tire retailer partner for the Major League Baseball (MLB) team.

“The new partnership will be a home run for Braves fans,” Jamie Ward, president of Tire Discounters said. “When the Braves hit home runs, fans will save on new tires plus a free alignment and a free oil change with our Tire Discounters Round Tripper Promotion.”

Michelin sponsors WWII vets’ return to Normandy for D-Day 80th anniversary

WWII vets will participate in several parades, ceremonies and celebrations during their 10-day tour of the Normandy region.

McCarthy Tire Service partners with Truckers Against Trafficking

McCarthy Tire Service has launched a company policy aimed at identifying and reporting potential human trafficking situations.

TIA’s EV Advisory Council tours Midtronics HQ

The agenda included a council meeting, a facility tour and a demonstration led by the Midtronics EV platform team.


Other Posts

The strategy for 100% sustainable tire manufacturing

Enhancing energy efficiency and the transition to green energy sources takes viewing manufacturing operations with a wide-angle lens.

Anyline to host the T.I.R.E. Summit

The event will include panel discussions on technology and innovation in the industry.

Radar Tires signs multi-year contract with Singapore Golf Association

Omni United said this partnership with SGA is part of its commitment to nurturing upcoming talent in Singapore.

Yokohama to supply Geolandar tires as OE on Toyota Land Cruiser SUVs

Geolandar X-CV and Geolandar A/T G31 tires are being supplied for the 250 series Land Cruiser.