Automotive repair shops will now be able to charge a maximum of $20 for a vehicle safety inspection under a new Virginia law that will take effect July 1.
Gov. Ralph Northam signed HB 2514, supported by the Virginia Automotive Association, that increases vehicle inspection costs from $16 to $20. Under the new law, shops can keep a majority of the increase, but will have to pay 70 cents, instead of 50 cents, out of the fee to the Virginia State Police for its program to certify inspectors.
The bill, sponsored by Delegate Tim Hugo, received bipartisan support in both the House of Delegates and state Senate. According to an update from Steve Akridge, executive director of the Virginia Automotive Association, the association lobbied in support of the bill.
Virginia’s vehicle inspection fee hasn’t increased in 13 years, The Roanoke Times reported. All vehicles registered in Virginia have to be inspected annually to ensure they are working properly and comply with safety standards. Virginia is among 16 states that require the inspections, although the federal government stopped requiring them in 1976.
This story will be updated.