Michelin First Tiremaker in Sebring Hall - Tire Review Magazine

Michelin First Tiremaker in Sebring Hall

Michelin will become the first tiremaker and just the fourth company honored with induction into the Sebring Sports Car Racing Hall of Fame.

Joining Michelin in the class of 2010 are former Sebring winning drivers Phil Walters, John Morton, Hurley Haywood and Derek Daly and former official Reginald S. Smith.

The induction ceremonies will take place in Sebring, Fla. on Mar. 19, on the eve of the 58th annual 12 Hours of Sebring.

The Sebring Hall of Fame was formed in 2002 at the 50th celebration of the 12 Hours of Sebring. Previous inductees include Roger Penske, Dan Gurney, Mario Andretti, Hans Stuck, Derek Bell, Phil Hill, Juan Manuel Fangio and Jim Hall. Michelin will join Porsche, Ferrari and Audi as the only manufacturers in the Sebring Sports Car Racing Hall of Fame.  

“Michelin would like to thank the Sebring Hall of Fame, our manufacturer and team technical partners and all of our engineers, researchers and support staff for contributing to our success and to this wonderful recognition,” said Scott Clark, COO of Michelin Americas Small Tires. “Our first goal in motorsports is to learn and develop technologies that can help us provide the right tires for consumers and competitors. This selection for induction helps validate that approach and we are truly honored.”

You May Also Like

Hankook Tire debuts Great Catch Rebate through July 7

Drivers who purchase at least four tires from eligible lines will qualify for savings of up to $120.


Hankook Tire has announced its first consumer promotion of the year, the Great Catch Rebate, running now through July 7. Twelve of Hankook’s EV, passenger, light truck and SUV tires headline this promotion. Drivers who purchase at least four tires from eligible lines will qualify for savings of up to $120.

GT Radial Formula Drift team welcomes 14-year-old driver

Minowa, who will be the newest and youngest driver in the Formula Drift 2024 pro season, will be debuting with Team Jerry Yang Racing.

TIA is now accepting nominations for open board of directors positions

The newly-elected board members will serve three-year terms with the potential for re-election to two additional terms.

Professional race car driver to compete on Bridgestone Potenza RE-71RS tires

Tom O’Gorman will compete on Bridgestone Potenza RE-71RS tires in the World Racing League Grand Touring Over class during the 2024 season.

Kumho Tire becomes an Official Tire of Formula DRIFT

As part of the sponsorship, Kumho Tire will receive a significant footprint at each of the eight Formula DRIFT events in the 2024 series, including track signage and activation during race weekends.


Other Posts

Discount Tire acquires six Suburban Tire Auto Repair Centers

The six locations in the Chicago area will continue to operate under the Suburban Tire Auto Repair Centers brand name.

Sun Auto Tire & Service expands Texas store count

The company has acquired Carrollton Complete Automotive, which offers a range of automotive services.

Yokohama Rubber to supply its BluEarth-XT AE61 as OE on Toyota’s Yaris Cross

Yokohama Rubber said the BluEarth-XT AE61 is a summer tire developed specifically for use on crossover urban SUVs.

AACF launches anniversary fundraising initiative

Running through July 1, this campaign aims to raise $65,000 through 1,000 donations of $65 each.