Connect with us


‘Full Speed Ahead’ for Big O Tires


USS-Midway-Big-O-ConventionMore than 750 Big O Tires franchise owners, managers and corporate associates recently gathered in San Diego, Calif. during April for Big O Tires’ convention.

Click Here to Read More

The theme of the event – Full Speed Ahead – was brought to life as attendees boarded the historic USS Midway Aircraft Carrier & Museum for the kick-off celebration. Big O Tires’ Kevin Kormondy, executive vice president, welcomed participants with a review of the past year and a request to look at the future growth of the company.

The theme of Full Speed Ahead was selected to emphasize moving forward together, achieving goals and growing successfully as a team, the company said.

Emphasizing how Big O is poised for growth, Erik Olsen, TBC Corp.’s president and CEO, discussed Big O’s importance to TBC’s leadership position in the industry.

Kormondy discussed same store growth and increasing store count. These are the two key focus areas for the organization as it implements plans to grow the franchisees’ stores revenues and to increase the Big O footprint in its geographies.

Kim McBee, Big O Tires vice president of marketing, talked about new marketing initiatives, including the national CARMA “Car Caring” campaign.

Finally, in keeping with the Navy-inspired theme of Full Speed Ahead, attendees were treated to keynote speaker Captain Mike Abrashoff, Commander of the USS Benfold, who at the time of his command was 36 years old and the most junior commanding officer in the Pacific Fleet. Abrashoff was named Commander to a ship that experienced exceptionally low morale with an unacceptably high turnover. Abrashoff used best business practices to not only turn the ship around in terms of morale and turnover, but made it one of the most decorated vessels in history.


Attendees of the Big O convention were encouraged to treat their stores with the same motivation for success as was outlined in Abrashoff’s speech.

During the convention, Big O awarded the “Best of the Best” franchisees and employees. The following are a few of the noteworthy awards given out:

  • The Point Of Light Award went to Dutch Tryon, owner of two Big O Tires stores in Topeka and Lawrence, Kan. The Point of Light Award recognizes franchisees that have contributed to the Big O organization with their knowledge, expertise and dedication.
  • 2013 IFA Franchisee of the Year was presented to Scott Koldenhoven, owner and partner of 12 stores in Colorado and New Mexico.
  • Standing “O” Awards – Each year at the convention, Big O recognizes franchisees and corporate staff for going above and beyond to support Big O whether it is serving on committees, helping fellow franchisees and team members, or providing outstanding customer service. This year’s winners include: Mike Pryor, owner and partner of 12 stores in Colorado and New Mexico; Dave Doyle, owner of two stores in Indianapolis, Ryan Stewart, owner of one store in Wyoming; Josh Landess, store manager in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and Rhonda Ceballos, senior credit analyst for TBC Corp.

Click to comment


Tire Review Magazine