CTDA Luncheon Honors Hall of Fame Inductees

2022 CTDA Luncheon Honors Hall of Fame Inductees

The California Tire Dealers Association met for the ninth annual CTDA/1-800EveryRim New Year Luncheon Jan. 20 where the group inducted members into the California Tire Dealers Association Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees include:

  • The late Eddie Cohn, a CTDA-S (South) director who had previously operated Cohn Tire Sales in Los Angeles;
  • Jay Goldberg, a board member of the CTDA since the 1960s, who operated Anderson Tire, Semperit Pacific and later became a principal at Globe Tire. Goldberg was also heavily involved with the National Tire Dealers and Retreaders Association (NTDRA);
  • The late Tom Hanlon, a past CTDA-N (North) president, who also ran Hanlon’s Tire Service in San Bruno, CA;
  • The late Ed King, who helped establish CTDA-N’s insurance services, was a past executive director of CTDA and a CTDA-N board member;
  • Don Zavattero, former secretary, treasurer and board member of the CTDA-N and CTDA, who founded Tech Supply in Hayward California.

“I know or had known each of the inductees for quite a long time, and with Jay and Eddie, they were mentors to me,” said luncheon host and CTDA President Billy Eordekian of 1-800EveryRim OEM Wheels.

The Hall of Fame inductees were announced by CTDA Executive Director Marc Connerly, and CTDA board member Chris Barry of the Independent Tire Dealer Group (ITDG) served as the luncheon’s emcee.

Speakers touched on topics important to the industry:

  • Retired Tire Industry Association (TIA) CEO Roy Littlefield, now a part time lobbyist for the association, reviewed legislative issues including the infrastructure bill and funding;
  • TIA President Mason Hess, of Purcell Tire, stressed the continuing impact of the labor shortage and talked about TIA’s role in employee training and the importance of manager engagement with new hires;
  • Steve Swanson, SEMA Wheel & Tire Council (WTC) select committee member and former SEMA board member, of the Carlster Group discussed the benefits of WTC membership;

The luncheon was hosted by 1-800EveryRim OEM Wheels and featured Federated Insurance as the annual CTDA Diamond Sponsor. Gold Sponsors were Yokohama Tire, Advance Auto Parts, Turbo Wholesale Tire, Snap Finance, Optimize Social Media and Mighty Auto Parts. Silver Sponsors were Myers Tire Supply, Penn Tires and Tire’s Warehouse.

You May Also Like

Firestone Airide Tennessee Plant Recognized for Safety

This is the facility’s fourth STAR award, reflecting the company’s and
teammates’ commitment to a safe and healthy work environment.

Firestone Airide, a division of Firestone Industrial Products Company, announced that the company’s Dyersburg, Tenn., manufacturing facility has received its fourth Volunteer STAR (Safety Through Accountability and Recognition) award.

The Volunteer STAR award recognizes the best-of-the-best in safety and health programming and performance. Patterned after the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration Voluntary Protection Program, the Volunteer STAR award is the state’s highest honor for workplace safety and health.

Apollo Tyres Opens Digital Innovation Center in India

In partnership with the Telangana Government, Apollo Tyres announced the launch of a digital innovation centre in Hyderabad, India.

MEMA Announces New Structure and Brand

The realignment will allow the association to better serve members and prepare for the future of mobility.

RNR Tire Express Named to Entrepreneur’s Franchise 500 List

The RNR team is celebrating 10-plus years being named to the Franchise 500 list.

‘New Culture,’ Dealer Commitment to Fuel Nexen Tire’s Growth

Hear what Nexen Tire executives have to say about the tire industry, supply chain and what dealers can expect from the company this year.


Other Posts

Magna Tyres Brings Latest OTR Tire Range to ConExpo Show

The latest OTR tire products will be displayed on the Magna Tyres stand.

ALI Announces Digital Lifting Points Guide

ALI is offering a digital lifting points guide that covers vehicles from model years 2000 through 2023.

Goodyear and Gatik Demonstrate Goodyear SightLine Technology

Goodyear and Gatik demonstrated, in a proof of concept, intelligent tires powered by Goodyear SightLine technology.

Chapel Hill Tire Gives Back Through 12 Days of Kindness Initiative

Discounts, charity and giving back was how Chapel Hill Tire celebrated the holidays.